What if I told you that you can retire right now?

Adam Egger
3 min readJan 30, 2024

No, I’m not talking about quitting your job.
I’m not talking about selling your assets or moving to a remote island.
I’m talking about a different kind of retirement — one that is not based on age or income, but on mindset and purpose.

This is the kind of retirement that Naval Ravikant, the founder of AngelList and my favorite podcast guest (listen to his interviews on Tim Ferriss’ podcast!), describes in his quote:

“Retirement is when you stop sacrificing today for an imaginary tomorrow. When today is complete, in and of itself, you’re retired. You retire by saving up enough money, becoming a monk, or by finding work that feels like play to you.”

I resonate with this quote deeply, because it reflects my journey of finding fulfillment and happiness in the present moment, rather than chasing after some elusive future goal.
I used to work in the corporate world, where I was constantly traveling the world to bring innovation to customers of just one company.

But then I realized that this was not the life I wanted to live. I wanted to live a more meaningful life. I wanted to live a life that was aligned with my values of giving back.

So I decided to make a change. I left the corporate world and became a mindful innovation coach. I help leaders become calm, focused, and successful innovators by teaching them both how to innovate and also how to use…

--

--

Adam Egger

Helping with Innovation and Growth | Strategy and Innovation can be fun and simple | A minimalist living a good life.