Simply Good Life — Write a Book | Who Hurts You? | Comfort Challenges

Adam Egger
2 min readJul 10, 2020

Hi friends, here is your weekly dose of “Simply Good Life”, a newsletter that tries to make your day a little bit better and help you to grow personally and professionally. Enjoy!

Write a Book

If I asked you to give a 30-minute presentation about a topic, without any preparation. What would it be?

Why don’t you write a book about this topic? The average book is 30,000–60,000 words. If you can write 1,000 words a day then you’ll have six to twelve books by the end of the year.

I know there are many books about every topic, but why shouldn’t there be one written by you?

I’m no-one, but still, there are enough people interested in reading my book for it to become one of the most popular books of all career books published by my publisher.

Comfort Challenges

One of the most effective exercises to learn to cope with life difficulties is to be out of the comfort zone every day.

I try to talk to strangers, I try to do scary things, I take cold showers.

Here are some interesting comfort challenges by Tim Ferriss.

In the first one, he teaches to eye gaze. It’s a difficult one, it’s about maintaining eye contact until the other person breaks the eye contact. In the second one, he teaches not to ask for opinions but rather to make proposals, to offer solutions.

Life begins outside of the comfort zone.

Who Hurts You?

Here’s something I learned many years ago when reading the fantastic book “Illusions” by Richard Bach.

We choose, ourselves, to be hurt or not to be hurt, no matter what. Us who decides. Nobody else.

I can call you stupid without hurting you.

If others call you stupid, you may be offended.

It’s not the others who hurt us,

it’s us who chose to be hurt.

Quote I Love

The least competent people are usually the most confident in their abilities. — Insight by Tasha Eurich

I often think about this one when listening to all the part-time virologist knowing everything about the SARS-Cov-2 virus.

I spent hundreds of hours learning as much as possible about health and fitness and couldn’t even tell you what’s the “best” way to eat or to exercise.

The more I know about these topics the less confident I feel.

How do you feel about difficult topics?

Have a good day,

Adam

--

--

Adam Egger

Helping with Innovation and Growth | Strategy and Innovation can be fun and simple | A minimalist living a good life.